Videos · Compared

Guidde vs Scribe for how-to guides, and a third option

Guidde and Scribe both record a workflow as you click through it and turn it into a guide; Guidde's main output is a narrated video, Scribe's is a written step by step guide with screenshots that can also be shared as a video. OneCraft is a third column that writes a narrated how-to video from screenshots you capture or upload.

Updated , competitor details checked . Guidde and Scribe are trademarks of their owners. OneCraft is not affiliated with or endorsed by either.

· Co-founder

3 min read · Published

The short verdict

Guidde suits teams that want a recorded workflow turned into a narrated video automatically, with AI voices, brand kits and video, PowerPoint or PDF exports. Scribe suits teams that want written step by step guides first, exported to PDF, HTML, Markdown or Word, with redaction and team comments. OneCraft suits people who want a short narrated video built from a handful of screenshots, beside the other content they make.

Guidde, Scribe and OneCraft, from public pages checked 5 October 2026
FeatureGuiddeScribeOneCraft
PricingFree $0 for up to 25 how-to videos; Pro $19 a month billed annually or $29 monthly; Business $39 or $59; Enterprise by quote checked 2026-10-05Basic free; Pro Personal $25 a seat billed annually or $35 monthly; Pro Team $13 or $17 a seat from 5 seats; Enterprise custom checked 2026-10-05Free $0, Starter $8, Pro $25, Pro+ $125 a month; tutorial videos start on Starter
Capture methodA browser extension, mobile or desktop app; click stop and the guide is generated checked 2026-10-05Chrome and Edge extensions on every plan; desktop and mobile capture from Pro checked 2026-10-05Still PNG frames, one per press of Capture step or Space, in a desktop browser; or uploaded screenshots
OutputA narrated video; MP4, PowerPoint and PDF export from Pro checked 2026-10-05A written guide; PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word export from Pro; share as video on every plan checked 2026-10-05A narrated video only, built from 5 roles: intro, tutorial step, how it works, checklist and outro
NarrationText to voice with 400+ voices and 50+ languages on Business checked 2026-10-05Not described on the pages checked checked 2026-10-05An instructional Google Chirp3-HD voice, forced for tutorials; 10 to 25 words a step
Editing stepsAdjust scripts, audio and design, and embed interactive links checked 2026-10-05Edit text and steps on every plan checked 2026-10-05Drop any shot in a review grid and mark its click point; then edit each scene's text and narration in the builder
Step pacingNot stated on the pages checked checked 2026-10-05A written guide read at the viewer's pace; video timing not stated checked 2026-10-055 to 9 seconds a step, 3 to 5 for the intro and wrap-up, at the Calm pace
SharingEmail and public links on Free; tracked shared links on Pro; branded links on Business checked 2026-10-05Link sharing and embedding on every plan checked 2026-10-05A read only link that plays the video live in the browser, plus MP4 export with 4K from Starter
RedactionManual PII redaction from Pro; magic redaction of PII on Enterprise checked 2026-10-05Manual redaction from Pro; automatic PII and PHI redaction on Enterprise checked 2026-10-05No redaction tool. Crop the recording area before capturing so only part of the screen is snapped
CaptionsVoiceover and captions added automatically checked 2026-10-05Not described on the pages checked checked 2026-10-05Built from the narration text, on by default, with a per scene toggle

Where Guidde is better

Where Scribe is better

Where OneCraft is different

A finished example

Software tutorial video exampleSoftware tutorial video exampleMade with OneCraft, exactly as the generator and editor left it. Open the page for the full breakdown.

Pricing in plain terms

Checked 5 October 2026. Guidde lists Free at $0 for up to 25 how-to videos, Pro at $19 a month billed annually or $29 monthly, Business at $39 or $59, and Enterprise by quote. Scribe lists Basic free, Pro Personal at $25 a seat a month billed annually or $35 monthly, Pro Team at $13 or $17 a seat with a five seat minimum, and Enterprise by quote. OneCraft lists Free, Starter at $8, Pro at $25 and Pro+ at $125; tutorial videos need Starter or higher, and a video generation uses about 20 credits.

Choosing between Guidde and Scribe

Decide whether people will watch or read. A new customer learning a feature often prefers a short narrated video, which is Guidde's main output. An employee following a twelve step process while doing it usually prefers a written guide they can scroll and search, which is Scribe's. Both capture with a browser extension, both redact, and Scribe can share a guide as a video, so the output format is the clearest dividing line.

Where a third option fits

OneCraft fits a short tutorial: five to nine steps, each a screenshot with a marked click, narrated and captioned, exported as MP4 for a help centre or a social post. It has no live recording, no written guide, no redaction and no team features, so a library of internal procedures belongs in Guidde or Scribe.

What could not be checked

Neither competitor states a seconds per step rule, and Scribe's pages checked do not describe narration or captions for its video sharing, so those cells say so rather than guess. Guidde's pricing page lists voices by plan in a way that differs from its homepage count, so the narration cell quotes the plan. Every OneCraft cell names a row in an internal fact ledger checked against the product's source code.

Who should stay with Guidde or Scribe

Stay with Guidde if you want narrated videos generated from live recordings, many voices, redaction and PowerPoint or PDF exports. Stay with Scribe if your team reads written guides, exports them to documents or needs automatic redaction. OneCraft fits short narrated how-to videos made from screenshots.

Questions people ask

Is Guidde or Scribe better for customer facing tutorials?

Guidde, for most teams, because its main output is a narrated video with captions, and Business adds branded links and five brand kits. Scribe suits customers who prefer to read along, and it can share a guide as a video too. Try both on one real workflow and compare what your users finish.

Do Guidde and Scribe both have a free plan?

Yes. Guidde's Free plan covers up to 25 how-to videos with public links. Scribe's Basic plan is free with the Chrome and Edge extensions, link sharing and embedding, but no PDF export. OneCraft has a free plan, but its tutorial video type is locked until the Starter plan at $8 a month.

Does OneCraft capture a moving screen recording like Guidde?

No. Screen capture in OneCraft snaps still PNG frames, one each time you press Capture step or the Space bar, in a desktop browser. No motion is recorded. The motion in the finished video comes from the cursor glide, click ripple and zoom it adds to each still.

How do I hide private data in each tool?

Guidde offers manual PII redaction from Pro and automatic redaction on Enterprise. Scribe offers manual redaction from Pro and automatic PII and PHI redaction on Enterprise. OneCraft has no redaction tool: crop the recording area before capturing, drop any shot that shows something private, or use a test account.

Can a OneCraft tutorial be embedded in a help centre?

Export the MP4 and host it where your help centre plays video. The OneCraft share link is a read only page that plays the video live in the browser; it is not an MP4 file. Scribe lists embedding on every plan, and Guidde offers shared links from its Free plan.

Try the video side of OneCraft

The button opens the generator with a starting prompt already filled in. Change the wording to match your own work before you run it.

Create a video with OneCraft

More comparisons

What the module actually does, feature by feature: the AI video maker page, and the videos maker page.

Step by step in the builder: Capture your screen for a tutorial video, then Make a how to video with AI.

Sources

Written and checked by the OneCraft team. Last checked .